+233 020 909 0311   +233 024 630 3543
Monday-Friday: 8:30AM-4:00PM

The Kings of Asante

1. Nana Osei Tutu 1670-1717(?) 47 years
2. Nana Opoku Ware II 1720-1750 30 years
3. Nana Kusi Bodom 1750-1764 14 years
4. Nana Osei Kwadwo 1764-1777 13 years
5. Nana Osei Kwame 1777-1798 21 years
6. Nana Opoku Fofie 1798-1799 1 year
7. Nana Osei Bonsu 1800-1823 23 years
8. Nana Osei Yaw Akoto 1824-1834 10 years
9. Nana Kwaku Duah 1834-1867 33 years
10. Nana Kofi Karikari 1867-1874 7 years
11. Nana Mensah Bonsu 1874-1883 9 years
12. Nana Kwaku Duah II 1884-1884 40 days
13. Nana Kwaku Duah III (Nana Agyeman Prempeh I) 1888-1931 43 years
14. Nana Agyeman Prempeh II 1931-1970 39 years
15. Otumfuo Opoku Ware II 1970-1999 29 years
16. Otumfuo Osei Tutu II 1999-  

To date the Golden Stool has had sixteen occupants - four of them since the British invasion.

The position of Asantehene is still a complex one. As head of the Kumasi state, he has equal status with the heads of the other states in the Union . As Asantehene, he is commander-in-chief of the Asante army, Chief Priest; Supreme Judge, and Chief Executive. An Asantehene is also head and chairperson of the Asanteman Council, which is the highest legislative authority in Asante . He presides over all meetings of the Council. Asantehene being the commander-in-chief of the army, must be well built, physically strong and healthy. He must also be without blemish, not dis­abled in any form or lost any part of his body. Bravery and willingness to fight to defend the state is a criterion for selecting an Asantehene. Therefore during the installation of Asantehene he has to demonstrate this by wear­ing the Batakarikese and fire a gun before the Asantehemaa (Queen Mother), the Mamponghene and the Essumejahene.

Copyright Reserved - Manhyia Archives